Tags

, , , ,

IMG_3481 - Copy

IMG_3505

IMG_3564 - Copy

This post goes out to those of you on the East Coast who have suffered through weeks (months?) of extreme cold.  My friend moved a year ago from sunny California to snowy Minnesota in January and we all thought she was crazy but she’s living her dream and experiencing adventures I can’t even dream of.

Have the temperatures raised above zero yet (I ask as I visit weather.com)?  I can’t even begin to imagine living in such cold weather!  I ordered a book last week and received notice that the shipping may be delayed.  This is about the extent of my connection with extreme weather conditions!

I love fresh soup in the winter and this winter I started making vegetable broth every time I make soup or use vegetables.  Many recipes call for broth or stock and I find it helpful to have some in the freezer.

Ingredients

    • 3-4 quarts water
    • 2 carrots, loosely chopped
    • 2 celery ribs, loosely chopped
    • 4 dried shiitake mushrooms (optional)
    • 1 unpeeled onion, quartered or 1 unpeeled shallots, halved
    • 2 unpeeled garlic cloves, smashed
    • 2 thyme sprigs
    • leftover vegetables from cooking; i.g. squash, Brussels sprouts, peppers, greens, green onions, leek, parsnip

Directions

    1. In a medium pot, combine the water, mushrooms, vegetables, and herbs. Bring to a boil.
    2. Reduce to a simmer and cover.  Simmer for 1-2 hours.
    3. When cooled, remove the mushrooms and store in fridge for future use. (They are amazing in stir fries or omelettes).
    4. Strain the broth through a fine mesh strainer, pressing the vegetables to remove the liquid.
    5. Store in the freezer for one month or fridge for one week.

Notes

    1. If you want a thicker broth, you could puree the vegetables (except for roots, skin etc) but for me it’s easier to just discard them.
    2. I cover my plastic container with saran wrap before applying the lid.  This seems to capture most of the ice particles.
    3. Consider labeling your broth with the date and any applicable notes.
    4. Add salt and pepper if desired, but I usually wait until preparing my soup.
