Tags

, ,

Paintbrush Cake 1

Paintbrush Cake 2

It can be so hard to let go.

This weekend I attended a birthday party for a friend’s daughter turning 4 and I made a red velvet cake.  This is the first red velvet cake I have made and frosted (the last I turned into cake pops) and luckily it turned out well.  I had a slight catastrophe this morning when I ran out of frosting, but Ralph’s is only two blocks away!

The birthday party was very chaotic, so I applied my mother instincts to protect the cake until it was sliced.  I would like to say that I wanted the parents to get good pictures but I think it was because I couldn’t imagine the cake being destroyed before the candles were blown out.  Finally when the Golf n Stuff employee offered to slice the cake, I knew it was time to step back.

IMG_3089 - Copy

IMG_3105

It’s strange, but I always expect that baked goods will turn out right even when they don’t.  This goes against logical thought, but I think it is the scientific mind in me.  As a child I had a science book and one experiment was to stuff a glass with a napkin, turn it upside down and into a large bowl of water.  The napkin didn’t get wet!  Years later I still apply my mind of science to baking.  If I combine ingredients a,b, & c and follow steps 1,2 & 3 then it will look and taste like this.  It doesn’t always work but keeps me trying again.

I did one thing differently with this cake that I will continue in the future.  I used buttermilk powder instead of buttermilk and I was happy with the results.  I used 8 teaspoons of powder to 1 cup of milk (portioned from the package instructions).

Oh, and if you want to make the cake, you can find the recipe here.

