Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_3026

IMG_2928

IMG_2980

IMG_3000

IMG_3062

Since yesterday the weather has been very cloudy and last night the rain finally came.  Weather like this makes me want to nah gives me permission to read a book, drink tea, and bake scones.  I ended up being much more productive than I expected, but it was because I felt as if time stood still and what I accomplished didn’t really matter.  It just mattered that I be and enjoy the storm.

Yesterday when I made this juice, it was so cloudy that I had to take all of my pictures outdoors.  I am having trouble with the lighting in our house this time of year, so many of my photographs will be taken in our back patio.

The beets are from a local farmers market and I was amazed by the greens.  The juice is sweet even though it tastes like a green juice.  Next time I will add a little spinach to make it more green.

Did you know that you can juice the greens as well?  Beet juice has great health benefits, but from my understanding you should juice no more than 1/2 of a beet at a time and should mix it with other juices.  I’ve had digestive sensitivity to juicing beets and I read some juicing forums that said beet juice can also cause dizziness.  I am a person that would rather be safe than sorry, so I think next time I will only juice 1/4 of a beet.  Start small and adjust depending on your sensitivity.

Ingredients (makes about 16 ounces)

  • 5 small carrots, sliced to fit in the juicer
  • 2 organic apples, quartered and seeds removed
  • 1/2 golden beet with greens, sliced in half
  • 1 inch slice of sweet potato, sliced to fit in the juicer

Directions

  1. In your juicer, alternate juicing the carrots and apples with the beet, greens and sweet potato.
