Tags

, ,

IMG_1887

Last Monday night, some friends and I celebrated the Summer Solstice with a summer potluck and fire pit.  In Long Beach the heat has stayed away until now and since the evenings can be quite chilly, a fire seemed very fitting.  It’s amazing how conversation just flows around a fire pit.

Combined

This salad is inspired from my favorite bbq joint, Beachwood BBQ and is very refreshing on a hot summer day.  I’ve been planning less and letting inspiration come from Long Beach farmer’s markets instead.  In Long Beach there are a few small urban farms that offer pesticide free produce at a very reasonable price.  You still have to supplement from a larger farmer’s market, but it is so refreshing to be able to see where your food is grown and meet your local farmer.

This mix of salad greens is from Farm Lot 59 in Central Long Beach.  It is very tasty!

Farm Lot 59 Mixed Greens

I cooked my chicken whole, and made chicken broth with the bones.  I am not accustomed to using the whole chicken, but I am trying to be more mindful of my resources.  This allows me the opportunity to buy better quality and more humanely treated chicken if I can use it for more meals.

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 1 bag of mixed greens
  • 1 cup of cooked chicken
  • 2 Tbs of mesquite BBQ sauce
  • 1 small ear of corn, boiled and removed from the ear
  • 1/4 red maui onion (or traditional red onion), sliced
  • 1/2 avacado, sliced
  • mini tortilla strips
  • garlic serrano pepper dressing

Directions

  1. Cook the chicken in advance and soak in the BBQ sauce for 30 min to 24 hours.
  2. In a large serving bowl, assemble the chicken, corn, onion, and avacado over the lettuce.
  3. Top with the tortilla strips when serving and drizzle the dressing on top.
