Life has been so busy the last few weeks that I’ve found it difficult to make the time for blogging.  The last two weekends were consumed with a birthday and then a bridal shower.  I’m here just checking in to share this dipping sauce that I created a month ago.

IMG_0590

IMG_0596

I love discovering new foods and experimenting with well known foods.  I got the idea for this sauce at a farmer’s market stand serving a Serrano pepper sauce with lettuce.  It was unique, but got me thinking.  What if I use a green like kale or dandelion greens instead of the lettuce and punch up the flavor with garlic and green onions?

IMG_0602

IMG_0607

I would like to have a dipping sauce or dressing that I could whip up with every meal, but since that doesn’t fit my nature of experimentation well I will settle for discovering them as I go.

Ingredients

  • 2 Serrano peppers, seeds removed
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 green onions
  • 1 handful dandelion greens (optional)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbs agave nectar
  • juice of 1/4 lime
  • Milk to make the sauce creamy (as needed)

Directions

  • Pulse the Serrano peppers, garlic cloves, green onions and dandelion greens in a food processor.
  • Transfer the greens to a blender and add the sour cream, agave nectar, and lime juice
  • Fully mix all the ingredients in the blender.  Add a tablespoon of milk if the sauce is too thick.
