Tags

IMG_0304 - Copy

Tonight I watched The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  It is a beautiful movie about a young boy who feels so alone and is tormented by memories in his past.  At the beginning of his freshman year, he doesn’t think he’s noticed, but by the end of the year he has friends that he loves deeply.  When he is with his friends, he feels infinite.

IMG_0320

In a strange way, this granola make me feel the same way.  Not so much infinite but at peace and feeling that I have something to give.  I picture a grandmother who bakes love into every batch of cookies.  I think of a mother living on a budget who wants her kids to eat wholesome food.  I see myself years from now hoping to please my new husband.

IMG_0313 - Copy

This recipe is adapted from true food Seasonal, Sustainable, Simple, Pure and cannelle et vanille.  It is very easy to make and is so delicious you may want to eat it every day.  For the nuts, seeds, and dried fruit you can use any combination that you have in your pantry.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup expeller-pressed canola oil
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup nuts and seeds – I used almonds, pistachios, pumpkin seeds, and walnuts
  • 1 cup dried berries- I used dried blueberries and dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup flax and chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup organic coconut flakes

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 300 deg. F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oil, agave, maple syrup, salt, vanilla extract, ground cinnamon, and black pepper.  Mix well.  Add the oats, nuts, seeds, and coconut flakes.  The dried fruit can either be baked with the granola or added after it cools.  I like it baked with the granola.
  3. Spread out the granola mix on the prepared baking sheet.  Bake for 40 minutes until golden, turning the granola every 2-3 times to bake it evenly.  Remove from the oven and cool completely.  Stir in the dried fruit and store in an airtight container.
