Tags

, , , ,

IMG_0135

This week I am celebrating the year anniversary of my blog.  What am I doing to celebrate, you ask?  I don’t know yet because it felt like I celebrated last November with my Restaurant Night.  Unfortunately, I haven’t pursued many things longer than a year outside of friendships and school.  Most hobbies felt just like that, an activity that occupies your time when you are free from the normal demands of life.  For 21 years school occupied most of my time and dictated my pursuits, and now in my early 30s I am trying to understand what I want out of life.

I am far from knowing the answer, but I am in a place where the ability to choose the life I want is a high value.  Part of that is the activities related to this blog and the other part is strengthening connections that are life giving.  For the last few months I’ve been shopping for a camera and in the meantime I’ve re-discovered my love for film photography.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get fully back into film photography, but I am committed to strengthening my craft so that I have something to offer people and bless their lives.

IMG_0130

Last week I purchased a Canon EOS Rebel T4i which included an 18-55 EF-S zoom lens.  In a future post I will share my journey and what I’ve learned from camera shopping, because I’ve felt that food photography is a craft or trade that tends to be kept as a secret.  I am very thankful for those who have chosen to share the craft in hopes that other people will benefit from it.  Plate to Pixel has been very helpful for me to re-learn the basics from my film photography classes.

Another very important pursuit at this moment is healthy eating.  I used to call myself a “healthy eater” mostly because I enjoyed preparing my own meals and desserts.  I am now beginning to believe that it is not about what you make but about the quality of ingredients that go into it.  One example is white rice vs brown rice.  We would probably all agree that brown rice is better for you, but what if we choose Bhutanese red rice which has no fat, contains potassium, and trace minerals?

IMG_0119

This juice is inspired by my growing love of beets.  Once a vegetable that I only saw from a can at Thanksgiving, it is now making it’s way into my pursuit of whole and natural foods.  Beets contain potassium and may lower blood pressure (I know there are many more benefits but it is so difficult to find definitive information on the web).  Beets are becoming very popular among juice lovers, but from my limited understanding of juices (very limited; mostly from The Juiceman’s Power of Juicing but I trust a book written before the hype of the internet to much of what is published now) beet juice should never be drunk solo and a half a small beet is the most that should be mixed with other juices.  I don’t know if this is true, but without getting graphic high levels of beet juice flush my system.  Though beneficial, this is not always desirable.

Ingredients (makes about 16 ounces)

  • 3 carrots
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 – 1 beet with the greens
  • 2 large stalks of swiss chard

Directions

  • Slice up all fruits and vegetables to fit in the juicer and alternate between the carrots and apples and beet and swiss chard

IMG_0143

The combination of beets and swiss chard makes a very sweet and delicious juice, but since swiss chard is from the beet family it would probably be beneficial to substitute the swiss chard for another green like kale or lettuce.  I don’t always like vegetable juices, but I couldn’t resist drinking both glasses.

