Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago I succumbed to the cold that has been going around, along with many others in my office.  I went two years without being sick.  Two years!  The change in the weather from cold to hot and some sleepless nights did me in.

IMG_6034

I actually wanted to get sick, at least I wanted the opportunity to stay home from work.  The irony is after two years, I only stayed home for two hours during this cold.

While most of us buy canned soup or beg a friend to make soup for us, a friend of mine recommended that I make my own chicken noodle soup.  The first week I couldn’t even imagine expending the energy to cook, but the following weekend I found it in me to make homemade chicken noodle soup for the first time.  (I forgot the noodles and made them separately to add).

IMG_6028

My roommate has the 2009 Food & Wine annual cookbook where I found a great recipe for Classic Chicken Noodle Soup (slightly adapted here)

Ingredients

  • One 3-5 pound chicken, neck reserved
  • Water to cover the chicken
  • 2-3 carrots- coarsely chopped
  • 2-3 celery ribs- coarsely chopped
  • 1 unpeeled yellow onion, quartered
  • 1 large unpeeled garlic clove, smashed
  • 1 tsp whole black peppercorns or crushed pepper
  • 3-4 thyme sprigs, leaves removed
  • handful of Italian parsley, torn into pieces

IMG_5997

IMG_6004

IMG_6005

IMG_6007

Directions

  • In a large pot, combine the chicken and neck, water to cover the chicken (as much as the pan allows), chopped carrots, celery, onion, garlic, pepper, and thyme.  Bring to a boil.  Cover partially and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes, turning the bird once if needed.
  • Transfer the chicken to a cutting board.  Discard the skin and pull the meat off the bones, tearing into 1/2 inch pieces and refrigerate.
  • Return the bones to the pot and simmer for about 1 hour.  Remove the bones and the onion/garlic peels and discard.  Remove the carrots, celery, onion, and garlic clove and set aside.   Strain the broth into a bowl.
  • Return the broth to the pot and boil until reduced to 8 cups, 30 minutes.  Season with salt.
  • Add the chicken, vegetables, and parsley to the pot and bring to a simmer.

What to you eat when you’re sick?

