Tags

, ,

I went to a Super Bowl party today after a four year absence.  I think on average I go to a Super Bowl party every four years.  I don’t follow sports and the idea of pretending to follow a sport for six hours does not interest me.  Many people admittedly watch the game solely for the  commercials.  I have to admit that I actually enjoyed watching the commercials in between watching the game.

IMG_6009

With the advent of Hulu and YouTube you don’t even need to watch the game, though the commercials do seem more enjoyable during America’s favorite pastime.  What was your favorite commercial?  I started to re-watch them on Hulu and there are 60 commercials.  Wow, it must take an hour to watch them all.  I loved the Doritos “Fashionista Daddy” where a little girl offers Doritos to her dad in exchange for playing Princess dress up and when his buddies come over to play football they all join in as well.  Or how about the Century 21 “Wedding Day” where the groom passes out at the alter because he has to move in with the in laws and his bride asks “is there a Century 21 agent in the house?” instead of asking for a doctor?  When they find the couple a house the mother in law hugs the agent; relieved that they wont be moving in with her.

IMG_6019

This Buffalo Chicken Dip recipe is from katie did.  It is a more healthy alternative to the typical Red Hot, cream cheese, chicken, and cheese dip.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love that dip, but I like that this dip has no dairy besides the cheese.  Just chicken, egg yolks, olive oil, lemon, Red Hot sauce and other seasonings.  I reduced the olive oil from 1 cup to 3/4 because the home made mayonnaise thickened early.  I also added bread crumbs and chopped Italian parsley on top for added texture.  I don’t know if I like the mustard.  It gives the dip a kick, but seems to take away from the hot sauce.

What was your favorite game time appetizer?

