Tags

, ,

IMG_5738 - Copy

IMG_5732

IMG_5730 - Copy

This weekend was beautiful, as anyone who lives in LA will attest to.  We experienced highs near 80 and enjoyed the evenings without freezing.  The beaches were packed and everyone was out biking, roller skating, skate boarding, walking and running.  I am amazed by the unique ways in which people exercise; such as a couple riding longboards with paddles.  I suppose it may be practice for paddle boarding?  I enjoyed two long walks with the sun warming my face.  This cold weather has kept me indoors (I do not like gyms and can’t seem to get myself to go) and my muscles have stiffened.  Thank goodness that I’ve discovered stretching yoga (I made this up. It’s yoga but mostly stretching) and that the highs will be above 60 degrees the rest of the month.

IMG_5800

The warm weather was also perfect for Yard Saling.  Our house is large and beautiful, but most of the low morning light is blocked by the neighbor’s house and therefore the dining room doesn’t see much daylight until after noon.  I used this opportunity to get out early (a whopping 9:30.  What can I say, I’ve never been an early bird unless forced) and hit up the yard sales.  One of my best friends is getting married and is looking for lace tablecloths and vintage furniture.  I figured that yard sales were the perfect place to find those items you don’t need but have always wanted.  There were only a few, but I found an amazing table that is perfectly worn and folds up.  I am so excited to add this to my blogging “collection” and use for parties.  See Exhibit “A.” 🙂

IMG_5816

I discovered Portabella Mushroom fries at my favorite barbeque spot Beachwood BBQ.  This is my friend Lauren’s, from The Talking Kitchen, favorite happy hour spot in Long Beach.  We enjoyed many happy hours soaking up the Long Beach sun before she moved.  We (including my friend at All Things ReCreated) miss her greatly!  Beachwood offers amazing appetizers such as fried pickles, smoked buffalo wings, tater tot casserole with duck gravy, and BBQ chicken nachos.  The Smoked Portabella “Fries” are new to their dinner menu and are served with smoked garlic/serrano chili aioli and horseradish parsely dip.  Afterwards, I had a huge hankering to make my own.

IMG_5766

Sweet Cilantro-Lime Serrano Pepper dipping sauce

Ingredients (makes approximately 1/4 cup)

  • 4 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 1/4 extra juicy lime
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Serrano pepper, seeds removed and diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions

  • Pulse all ingredients in a blender until well mixed

IMG_5812

Portabella Mushroom Fries

Adapted from food network

Ingredients (serves 1-2)

  • 2 large whole portabella mushroom caps
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1/4 cup Italian Parsley, chopped
  • 3 sprigs thyme
  • 1/3 cup organic bread crumbs

Directions

  • Heat a skillet over medium high heat.  Remove the stems and scrape the gills off the underside of the caps with a spoon.  Clean caps gently with a damp paper towel.  Drizzle both sides of caps with olive oil.
  • Grill mushrooms 3-4 minutes on each side, covering with a lid to capture the heat.  Don’t worry if your pan and lid don’t match.  The glass will still help to capture the heat and moisture.  Remove from the heat and cool.
  • Slice grilled caps into 1/2 inch thick strips.  Coat strips in egg and then in mixture of parsley, thyme, and bread crumbs.  With enough olive oil to coat the pan, fry mushrooms over medium high until browned and crispy.

IMG_5741 - Copy

IMG_5764

IMG_5783 - Copy

The sauce was so good that I soaked up the remainder with chips and drank it from the blender afterwards!  I am sold on rice vinegar and honey dressings.

IMG_5790

