Tags

, ,

Last week I made Carrot-Apple Juice and Carrot-Apple Bran Muffins with the remaining pulp.  I’ve experimented with many juices over the years, but this one is my staple.  I have to confess that I am not a consistent juicer.  The work and clean up deters me from enjoying a delicious and healthy drink.

IMG_5092

What I love most about juicing is getting all those vitamins and minerals instantly.  It is the next best thing to eating your fruits and vegetables.  One thing that I don’t like very well.

IMG_5100

Ingredients

  • 4 carrots
  • 2 apples

Look for carrots that are smooth and firm without cracks and bruises, not more than one and a half inches in diameter.  Wash the carrots if nonorganic and trim at the top and the stem.  Do not peel the carrots!

Purchase organic apples whenever possible.  Many apple growers wax the fruit to preserve it.  Look for firm, crisp apples without soft spots or bruises.

Directions

  • Trim the carrots and cut the apples into narrow wedges.  Many juicers do not have a very large opening, so watch for large diameter carrots or apple wedges.  Process the carrot pieces and apple wedges in the juicer.

If you think you might become a ravid juice drinker, check out The Juiceman’s Power of Juicing, where I’ve learned all my recipes and gathered much of what I know about juicing.

IMG_5111

