Tags

A friend who is many years my senior told me that as the years go by, the days get shorter and the months get shorter until the years seem to fly by.  From my perspective that is hard to believe, but I can testify that the last few months have flown by.  Thanksgiving is upon us; giving us the opportunity to reflect and enjoy friends and family.  I’ve already had two “Thanksgiving dinners” including a Fakesgiving in which we simply ate good Thanksgiving food and watched football.  Not exactly my cup of tea, but an American pastime.

Since my dinner, it’s been slow going in getting back into cooking and blogging but the holidays offer many opportunities.  For Fakesgiving, I baked this Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars with a streusel topping.  I like pies, but in my opinion round pies are overrated.  I have gravited lately towards crumbles, cobblers, and bars.  They are so much easier to prepare and go much further at a party.

I don’t usually make pie desserts, but I am fascinated with the slightly soft and crispy quality of baked apples.  This cheesecake is disguised as bars, but don’t be fooled.  They are so rich that they go well by themselves or with ice cream.  The cheesecake center is just creamy enough to melt in your mouth.  I love how the streusel topping is crumbly, completely offsetting the cheesecake.  You really don’t need the caramel sauce, but I am a big fan of this caramel sauce recipe made with coconut palm sugar so I made it to drizzle on the ice cream.

When I heard the words “Umm” from my friends, I knew it was a hit.  It is best the day after when all the flavors have melded.  Make the caramel sauce fresh as it is best just off the stove.

