Tags

,

I can’t believe it’s almost Friday.  This week has gone by so quickly and I’m looking forward to the weekend.  I work 9 hour days and by the time Friday rolls around I am exhausted.

This Roasted Banana Bread got me through the week.  It gave me something to look forward to every morning and sometimes in the evening.  Since my work schedule is not flexible, I like to be creative and flexible in the areas I can.  I made this recipe a few months ago with Scotch Whiskey soaked candied ginger, but this time I was going for the sweeter taste of dried cherries.  I love the pleasant surprise of the walnuts without being overwhelming.

I used to eat bananas all the time and baked banana bread with the over ripened ones.  There is nothing like a banana that has turned black for banana bread. (They go great in smoothies also).  As I’ve grown older and wiser my tastes have changed (amongst other things) and I don’t buy bananas anymore.  It is one of the saddest things, especially when my roommates love the treats I share.

The best thing about this recipe is baking the bananas until they turn brown and juicy.  They ooze with goodness and make the bread delicious.  The coconut milk adds a creaminess but can over power the bananas if it’s canned coconut milk.  If you use canned coconut milk, be sure to shake the can well.

I have started to bake exclusively with Coconut Palm Sugar and I love it!  It is a low glycemic sugar and I feel much better about what I’m eating.  It has a caramelized brown sugar taste and goes great where brown sugar is called for it.  It is much cheaper per volume than the Agave Nectars and works great in baked goods.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup dried cherries
  • 1/2 – 1 cup Scotch or Scotch Whiskey blend
  • 3 ripe bananas, unpeeled
  • 2 cups All Purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup Coconut Palm Sugar (or fine organic sugar)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup walnuts

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Soak cherries in Scotch for at least 3o minutes.  You can reuse the remaining as a cherry infused scotch.
  • Place the bananas on a cookie sheet.  Bake in the oven for 12 minutes, or until the skins are black and they have started to seep.  Remove from the oven, set aside and let cool.
  • Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a mixing bowl.

By the way.  I used to always sift flour and as you grow old you realize some things just aren’t necessary.  I just mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt vigorously with a whisk.

  • Cream the butter and sugar on medium speed for about 3 minutes.

Here is something else that surprised me.  You don’t really need a mixer.  If the power is out (in that case you probably can’t bake either) or your roommate moved and and took the mixer (which is what happened to me); use a whisk and mix vigorously until the butter is creamy.  This will require leaving the butter out until it is completely soft.  Then add the sugar and continue to mix vigorously.

  • Turn the mixer to low and add 1 egg.  Mix until completely combined and then add the second egg and mix until completely combined.
  • Add the entire bananas flesh (juice and all), coconut milk and vanilla and mix well on low speed.
  • Add half the flour mixture and mix until combined.  Add the remaining flour mixture and mix until completely combined.
  • Fold in the soaked dried cherries and walnuts.
  • Pour into a loaf pan lined with parchment paper and bake for 1 to 1-1/4 hours until a toothpick inserted in the top comes out clean.
  • When cooled, remove the bread from the pan with the parchment paper and slice to serve.

Check out the original recipe here.

