Tags

,

I love recipes that are passed down within the family.  My family wasn’t one to share family recipes, but I do remember my grandmother cooking while we camped in the mountains.

Every year us four grandkids went camping with our grandparents and on rainy afternoons (almost every afternoon in the mountains), we were forced to stay inside the trailer.  We usually played games or made crafts, while our grandmother cooked dinner.  This is the beauty of trailers or small cabins in the mountains.  Every activity goes on within a small space, forcing you to draw together.  I remember my grandmother crushing crackers within a plastic bag, probably for a graham cracker crust.  She used a Coca-Cola can, something we always had on hand.

My roommate is Taiwanese and she often calls her mom to ask about a family recipe.  I love this!  Her mom has a repertoire of Taiwanese recipes and styles of cooking that I’ve enjoyed both here and at their house.  When we visit, she makes sure that we don’t go hungry.  This baked chicken is our favorite!  The skin and marinade seals in the moisture, leaving a barbequed Asian chicken.  It’s hard to describe, but you won’t be disappointed.

The marinade is very simple; garlic, soy sauce, chicken marinade, wine and sugar.  My roommate’s mom uses cooking wine, but we love the taste from red wine.

Ingredients (slightly modified from my roommate’s mom’s)

  • 8-10 chicken drumsticks (poke through with chop sticks)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 Cup Soy sauce
  • 1/4 Cup Chicken Marinade
  • 1/4 Cup Red Wine
  • 1 Tsp of sugar

Directions

  1. Mince the garlic
  2. In a large pan that fits all the drumsticks, mix the garlic, soy sauce, chicken marinade, red wine and sugar.
  3. Marinade for 24-48 hours (48 hours recommended), rotating chicken over every 12 hours.
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  5. Arrange the drumsticks on a rack over a baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, turning at 15 minutes and adding marinade if desired until the chicken is cooked all the way through.
