Tags

,

This morning I heard a recipe on NPR that intrigued me.  It is inspired by the farmer’s markets in Los Angeles.  Farmer’s markets are so plentiful, but we take the fresh vegetables for granted.  I’ve been buying my vegetables at a local farmer’s market, but I’ve never considered using squash as a sauce.  I can’t believe I’ve missed out all this time.  It is amazing!

The recipe is so simple that you will want to modify it, but DON’T.  The cooked zucchini and onions make an AMAZING sauce that would make me consider being vegan (except for the cheese.  I can’t live without cheese).  It is so filling and delicious.

I added cinnamon basil flowers as a garnish and kick since I’m constantly trimming the flowers from my cinnamon basil plant.  The flowers add a pepper flavor that you won’t get with the leaves alone.  I have three cinnamon basil plants that are thriving and they make great gifts.

Try the pasta with a Cabernet Sauvignon.  I paired it with the 2009 Red Diamond.  It is a great cab for under 10 dollars with berry and oak flavors.

Here are some things I learned:

Use organic or farm fresh zucchini and extra virgin olive oil since the recipe relies on good quality ingredients.  Add water when cooking down the zucchini if it begins to stick.  Blend the sauce if the zucchini doesn’t break down on it’s own.  It will easily break up and make a perfect sauce.  Honestly, I don’t know if you need cheese but a sprinkling of grated Parmesan cheese finishes it off.

I will make sure that I keep listening to KCRW and watch out for more great recipes.

