Last weekend I was looking for dessert recipes for a party and I came across this Peanut Butter Krispy Treats recipe from 101 Cookbooks.  I have been on the lookout recently for cooking/baking blogs to follow and I love the large assortment of recipes from Heidi.

The recipe is very simple and easy to make.  You’ll have the treats finished before you even realized you had all the ingredients gathered.  And the fun thing is you can add any kind of salty or sweet on top that you like.

I substituted ground flax seed for the agar agar flakes (2 tsp) as the binding agent and used 1/2 cup of agave nectar as a substitute for maple syrup (the remaining 1/4 cup being maple syrup).  My only disappointment is that the treats did not completely stick together.  I think using more maple syrup and refrigerating them may have helped.  What I do love is the added benefit of fiber and Omega-3 fats from the flax seeds.

I also had fun using unbleached baking cups for the first time.  With this trend to move towards unbleached baking products, I’m wondering what ever attracted me to the colorful (except at holidays of course) baking cups.

What blog has inspired you lately?

