It’s Wednesday.  The week is half over!  I am extremely tired tonight, just like every Wednesday.  Do you ever try to extend the weekend into Monday, finding yourself wiped out during the week?  I started attending a weekly dinner at a friend’s house on Monday nights, and each week it allows me to extend my weekend.  As I drive to their house, I see people out enjoying the summer evening and I forget work momentarily.

I really look forward to Monday night dinners and find the anticipation getting me through work.  I work as an engineer in the building industry and Mondays are crazy.  You never know what the weekend will hatch up.  This Monday we had three sets of plans to get signed and stamped, and at a small office that is NO small feat.  If I’ve learned one thing, it is that something WILL go wrong with printing.  This is one area where I am not technologically gifted.

This week to get me through the midweek Mayhem, I made garlic chive fries.  I have a garlic chive plant in my yard and it is my favorite herb/vegetable outside scallions, basil, lemon grass, and shallots.  Ok, it is one of my favorite herbs!  It has grown like a weed since I planted it last fall.  You may find it at an asian market, but your local nursery might be the best spot.  A small plant should be enough to get you started and it grows back fast and hearty.

What I love about fries is there is no hard and fast rule and you can tailor them each time to suit your mood.  When I was in high school we had a fry slicer and we ALWAYS cooked Russet potatoes in the Fry Daddy.  Now I make sweet potato fries, purple potato fries, or whatever type of fry I can think of and I always cook the with olive or grape seed oil.

I ate these with homemade ranch dressing and I devoured them after quickly taking photos.  I am ashamed to say how good they were! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium yellow potatoes sliced to 1/2″ square (I used organic)
  • 1/2 cup chopped garlic chives (kitchen shears work great)
  • 2 shallots minced
  • Sea Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 Tbs grape seed oil
  • (consider adding 2-3 garlic cloves minced and reduce the shallots to 1 if you have regular chives, but I LOVE the taste of shallots)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Mix the potatoes, garlic chives, shallots, and oil in a medium bowl until well combined.
  3. Over medium heat, saute the potato mixture until the potatoes soften and the shallots become tender, about 5 minutes.
  4. Transfer the potatoes to the parchment paper and add salt/pepper to taste.
  5. Roast in the oven for about 20-30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes until the potatoes brown.  Season with salt and serve.

What is your favorite fry?

