I have a confession to make.  I don’t like ranch dressing.  While everyone else at dinner is asking for ranch, I ask for blue cheese.  I like my dressing to be rich, bold, and contain cheese!  So, when I came across this recipe for Homemade Ranch Dressing from Joy the Baker, I was surprised by how drawn I was to the post.  The chopped chives and smashed garlic with sea salt kept calling out to me and I can’t resist sour cream, so I set out to resolve my differences with ranch dressing.

The verdict?  Well, it’s still out and I’m still trying to figure out what I like with ranch dressing.  I cooked something amazing that I devoured with this ranch, but that I will share later this week.  🙂  With such simple ingredients, I feel that the key is the pairing; though most people would completely disagree.  Or did I miss the key ingredient?  Joy said that with a touch of barbeque sauce it’s “dang” good.

My favorite part was smashing the garlic.  I discovered a few months ago how to smash garlic with your palm or a knife to remove the shell, so this part was really fun!

Be sure to do a lot of taste testing!  This helps you to know what you like and don’t like.  When I was picking out the ingredients, I wanted to use Italian Parsely but I thought it best to stick to the recipe.  (How ridiculous is that?).  In the process of much taste testing, I remembered that I don’t like parsely.  To me, this is an herb best used for decoration purposes!!

Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could taste the herbs and vegetables at the grocery store before making our purchase?  (I’m asking myself and thinking, “This is called a farmer’s market,” dah).  I guess I will need to take advantage of the summer weather and let my taste buds do the shopping.

