With every season we enter into a rhythm unlike the last.  Darkness is replaced with light.  Hope springs up just when we thought it was lost.  Every Spring I anticipate the blossoming of trees and the budding of flowers.  Just as the world is refreshed, we must seek refreshment for our souls.

Recently I took a day of personal refreshment at Laguna Beach.  I spent the afternoon resting at the beach and exploring the town.

I discovered this amazing vegetarian cafe called Zinc Cafe that may just make a vegetarian out of me; it was that good.  The patio was full of soft light from overhead canopies.

I ate the Grilled Cheese Sandwich and it was delicious.

Grilled Sourdough encasing melted Gruyere cheese, dill pickles, and marinated tomatoes. It is served with whole grain mustard and a salad of mixed greens, tomatoes, marinated onions and vinaigrette dressing.

I was surprised by the pickles.  By themselves I wouldn’t like them, but with the Gruyere cheese and grilled sourdough they were a nice touch.

On my way out of town I stopped by a ceramic yard and purchased a few pots.  The prices were great and I brought home new pots for my garden.

This was truly a refreshing day.

