I started a food blog to share my journey in cooking and gardening, but more than that it was to learn how to be true to myself.  As a career woman, I find it hard to recognize all the parts of who I am.  My blog this week is about connecting with a fellow baker and career woman whose years give her wisdom and beauty.

We met to bake an apple pie, but more than that it was to learn from each other and share life.  This homemade apple pie has a lot of love in it and I find that to be the best recipe.

Our options for the top were nuts and sugar or a pastry crust, but we thought it would be fun to use cookie cutters and put shapes on top.  I searched through my friend’s cookie cutters and chose these animal and flower shapes which seemed so fitting for Spring and Easter.

My friend pulled out her Better Homes and Gardens cookbook to review the recipe and I was taken back to my childhood when my mom made pancakes from The Joy of Cooking cookbook.
Instead of sharing a recipe, I wanted to share some of what I learned today about baking a fruit pie.
  • When mixing the pie crust, use chilled water.  This helps keep the dough’s shape and makes for a flakier crust
  • Add the water to the butter and flour mixture 2-3 Tbsp at a time and stir with a knife; scrapping the side of the bowl.  Add only enough water to form the dough into a ball
  • When rolling the dough, don’t push down but away and keep turning the dough to make it round
  • After transferring the pastry to the pie plate, make fork holes in the bottom to allow the dough to breathe and cook more evenly
  • Use an ample amount of filling.  We used (2) cans of pie filling and (1) small apple
  • Before placing the top crust over the filling, gently wet the edges of the crust to create a seal
  • Cut the edges of the pastry from the pan with a swift movement of the knife
  • Cut slits on the top of the pastry so the filling doesn’t overflow.
  • You can brush milk or sprinkle sugar on top to help the pie brown.  This creates a nice look, but it may be harder to cook the crust all the way through
Here are some pictures of the process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

