Tags

I’ve been trying to get no bake desserts down for weeks; combining dates, peanut butter, coconut oil, coconut flakes, rice cereal, oats, chocolate…you name it.  This also coincides with my new found desire to eat healthy.  I’ve had a really hard time eating healthy for…my entire life…especially now that I work at an office and go out for lunch everyday.  Well, lunch hasn’t been so easy but I’ve been making healthier meals and desserts.

My friend Lauren makes amazing no bake desserts and she has inspired me to think differently about sweets.  I adapted her Oat Pecan Butter Balls recipe to make these cinnamon walnut date bars.  As a result of this drive I have fallen in love with coconut oil, all of a sudden I’m eating nuts when I never used to eat nuts, and I’m eating flax seed.  Miracles do happen!

These date balls are very simple to make, but you either need the right equipment or be prepared to chop dates very coarsely.  If you don’t have a large food processor, a strong blender should also do.  If you don’t have either, process the oatmeal first and then combine with the dates by hand.

Add water to the date and oats until the mixture is sticky.

Doesn’t this look yummy already!  Be warned, they taste like oatmeal cookies so it will be difficult to eat only one. 🙂  The coconut oil makes them extra rich, though a little goes a long way.

Roll the mixture into balls and freeze for 20 minutes before serving.  If eating them later, store in a sealed container in the freezer for an extra yummy treat at any time.  Though I bet they will transform your thinking of what a treat is!

Ingredients:

  • 10 dates, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 4 Tbs filtered water
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 2 tsp flax seed
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • coconut flakes (optional)
  • cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Chop dates coarsely.  Pulse the chopped dates and oats in a food processor until crumbly.  Add water and process until sticky.
  2. Add the walnuts, flax seed, coconut oil and agave nectar and pulse until crumbly.
  3. Form the mixture into balls and roll in coconut flakes.  Sprinkle with cinnamon.
  4. Store in a sealed container in the freezer for an extra fresh treat at any time.